End of Summer: My Reading, Writing, and Reflections

Halfway through my summer, I shared what I had read up to that point. Now that summer is officially over, here is my complete summer reading list (bold titles are the ones from the second half of my summer):

1. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

2. So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

3. Mexican WhiteBoy by Matt de la Pena

4. Beta by Rachel Cohn

5. Gym Candy by Carl Deuker

6. A Girl Named Mister by Nikki Grimes

7. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

8. Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach

9. Friday Night Lights by H. G. Bissinger

10. The Enemy by Charlie Higson

11. Burned Alive by Souad

12. Swagger by Carl Deuker

13. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

14. The Hoopster by Alan Lawrence Sitomer

15. Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer by John Grisham

16. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

17. Red Rising by Pierce Brown

18. Hate List by Jennifer Brown

19. Conversion by Katherine Howe

20. The Compound by S. A. Bodeen

21. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

22. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (reread) 

23. Monster by Walter Dean Myers (reread)

24. If I Stay by Gayle Forman (reread)

I think 24 books is pretty amazing for only being off from school 10 weeks. Technically, I can’t even say I was truly off from school. I read two other books for new teaching strategies–making my true total 26–and I have been writing in my newest writer’s notebook and on this blog. I have shared my ideas with other teachers, and have gotten some wonderful new ideas in return. I had a busy and exciting summer with family and friends, but school was always in the back of my mind.

Tomorrow starts my 2014-2015 school year. I truly look forward to sharing my knowledge of books and writing with my students. I hope to bring in another author for them to chat with, whether it’s in person or via Skype. I’m looking forward to using Goodreads this year so my students have an “online Someday List” they can constantly update. When it comes to writing, I want my students to understand that, just like reading, it takes practice. Our writer’s notebooks will constantly be out and utilized in many different fashions. I’m also excited to finally make it back to the NCTE Annual Convention, which I haven’t been to since it was in New York City. Time to get started!

4 thoughts on “End of Summer: My Reading, Writing, and Reflections

    • I loved them all! City of Bones was probably my favorite of those three, so I just have to figure out when I can make the time to read such a huge series. I loved the Hate List because I felt for Valerie. I understood why she loved Nick, even though everyone else thought of him as a monster. I’m glad she saw that her list showed that she was as much of a bully as some of the students that she called bullies. I liked Beta, but I wanted more information! I have to wait for the sequel in October!

      • I didn’t even know the sequel is about to come out! Now I have another book I have to add to my “To Read” list. I really glad that you liked City Of Bones! Just remember to read The Infernal Devices before you read City of Heavenly Fire.

Please write your comment here.

