Creating a Classroom for Readers

Last week during a staff development day, I was told that classroom desks should be in groups. My classroom is not very big, and over the years I’ve added ten bookshelves, making it even smaller. It makes it hard to set up desks in small groups, but I’m okay with that if it means there is room for more books.

My classroom is a classroom for readers. Every inch of space is used to showcase books. Students in grades 9-12 flock in to check out books throughout the day. They know I have the latest titles, and they know that I take their suggestions about what should be added. They know I will let them sneak into my room, even if I have a class, to check out a book during their Study Halls. They know I remember their favorite genres and can recommend a book for them to try. They know I am always willing to “talk books,” and they know my class is one where everyone has the fREADom to read what they love.

IMG_2184

Some newer titles displayed in the front of my room on a table, along with articles about favorite authors.

IMG_2190 - Version 2

Students see this sign and are reminded that they have the freedom to read what they love in my classroom.

My display board up front that shows what my co-teacher and I are currently reading. Once school starts, it will be updated with the amount of pages we read per week.

IMG_2183

5 of the 10 bookshelves. Also, I use “Partner rows” over the first few weeks so students have someone to depend on for questions/confusion besides myself. When small groups are needed, we move desks.

NEW

New books that will be “released” the first week of school.

6 thoughts on “Creating a Classroom for Readers

  1. I love it! I’m going to have to make my own FREADOM poster to hang up in my classroom. I’ve also used DonorsChoose to build up my classroom library and it makes my day every time former students (or kids I’ve never taught!) come in because they want a good book.

  2. That’s a good idea i always enjoyed being in groups back in ur class and it was always fun to find out what you were reading. I wish you good luck with this next year. I moved to Niagara wheatfeild but i wish u the best of luck and you always be one of my fav teachers

    On Sep 5, 2015 6:51 PM, “Read, Reflect, Write, and Share.” wrote: > > skrajewski posted: “Last week during a staff development day, I was told that classroom desks should be in groups. My classroom is not very big, and over the years I’ve added ten bookshelves, making it even smaller. It makes it hard to set up desks in small groups, but I’m o” >

    • Hi Branden! Thanks for sharing, and enjoy Niagara Wheatfield! That district is lucky to have you and your family. I hope you continue to read as much as you did in my class. What was your number? 59 books!?

Please write your comment here.

