Promoting Literacy with Little Free Libraries

I can’t remember when I first heard about Little Free Libraries, but ever since I found out about them I have wanted to help promote them. This summer, I am hoping to have one added to my own front yard, but I also want to add some to the district I teach in.

What are Little Free Libraries? These little libraries promote “give a book, take a book.” The libraries themselves can hold 15-20 books, depending on their size. Though they are geared toward children, people of all ages can look for a book and share one of their own.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 10.26.42 AM.png

Why Little Free Libraries? We have all seen the statistics. The more children are read to when they are younger, the more they will be ready and willing to read once they enter school. The more they read as they get older, the better their reading and writing skills will be. Literacy is often promoted in schools, but that means only the children are hearing about the importance of reading in their lives. What about adults? They are, after all, the only “teachers” in our children’s lives for their first 4 or 5 years. I LOVE the idea of Little Free Libraries because they promote literacy in the community.

Screenshot 2016-02-21 at 10.34.32 AM.png

What will I be doing to promote literacy this summer? I know summer is a long way off, but it’s never too early to plan. My goal this summer is to help prevent that “summer slide” in reading by getting some of these Little Free Libraries out into Western New York. I also will be holding “Library Hours” in my school so current and former students can come to my classroom library to check out books. Many students tell me they are not allowed to walk or ride their bikes to their local library, so this is my way of making sure they have access to books over the summer.

Now I just need to find the funding to get those libraries into the community! I know Donorschoose is always an option, but I have been using it a lot lately. Any other suggestions? Feel free to leave them here.

 

Please write your comment here.

