The Class of 2019’s Favorite Books of the Year!

Below is a list of titles that were favorites from my group of 9th graders this year. Some students only included one title, and others included more than one because they fell in love with many titles. This year’s top title was a tie between two titles, but I am calling the winner Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt since the other title, Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, was required reading. The list is organized by the author’s last name.

NOTE: If a title was listed more than once, there is a bold number next to it with the amount of times it was listed as a favorite.

    • Simon vs. the Homo Sapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli
    • The Crossover by Kwame Alexander 5X
    • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    • Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson 2X
    • Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson
    • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
    • The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
    • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    • Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
    • El Deafo by Cece Bell
    • Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
    • Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts
    • The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
    • It Is What It Is by Nikki Carter
    • The Selection by Kiera Cass
    • Need by Joelle Charbonneau
    • Stolen by Lucy Christopher
    • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
    • Played by Dana Davidson
    • I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
    • Fault Line by C. Desir
    • Perfect Chemistry by Simone Eckeles
    • Wild Cards by Simone Eckeles
    • After by Amy Efaw 2X
    • My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
    • I Was Here by Gayle Forman
    • Some Kind of Courage by Dan Gemeinhart
    • Star Wars: Lost Stars by Claudia Gray and Phil Noto
    • Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan 2X
    • A Girl Named Mister by Nikki Grimes
    • The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell and the Freedom Writers
    • The Last Time We Said Goodbye by Cynthia Hand
    • The Enemy series by Charlie Higson
    • House Arrest by K.A. Holt
    • Crank by Ellen Hopkins 2X
    • Perfect by Ellen Hopkins
    • Rumble by Ellen Hopkins
    • Smoke by Ellen Hopkins
    • Fish in a Tree by Linda Mullaly Hunt
    • Firecracker by David Iserson
    • Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
    • The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak by Brian Katcher
    • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 2X
    • Carrie by Stephen King
    • Butter by Erin Jade Lange
    • When by Victoria Laurie
    • Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi
    • The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu
    • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
    • Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan
    • Level 4: Virus Hunters of the CDC by Joseph B. McCormick and Susan Fisher-Hoch
    • The Visions series by Lisa McMann
    • Ten by Gretchen McNeil
    • Cinder by Marissa Meyer 3X
    • Winter by Marissa Meyer
    • Harlem Summer by Walter Dean Myers
    • Monster by Walter Dean Myers
    • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
    • Knockout Games by G. Neri
    • Yummy by G. Neri 2X
    • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
    • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
    • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
    • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
    • Death Note series by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata
    • The Nest by Kenneth Oppel
    • A Child Called “It” by David Pelzer
    • Divided We Fall by Trent Reedy
    • All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely 6X
    • When I Was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds
    • Jackaby by William Ritter
    • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell 2X
    • Echo by Pam Munez Ryan
    • The Marvels by Brian Seznick
    • Hamlet by William Shakespeare\
    • Zom-B series by Darren Shan
    • Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt 8X
    • I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder 2X
    • Falling for You by Lisa Schroeder
    • Far from You by Lisa Schroeder
    • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
    • Winger by Andrew Smith
    • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck 8X
    • Chasing Lincoln’s Killer by James L. Swanson
    • This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki
    • My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
    • Beautiful Lies by Jessica Warman
    • Countdown by Deborah Wiles
    • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
    • American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
    • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 4X
    • Unknown Assassin series by Allen Zadoff
    • The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

I am SO very proud of my 9th graders! They read hundreds of books this year, so in my next post I will be sure to share more about their reading habits.

13 thoughts on “The Class of 2019’s Favorite Books of the Year!

  1. What a great list compiled by your students. I teach 6th grade, and I think many of these I could add to my classroom library. Sixth grade is kind of tricky. They want to be teenagers, but not quite ready for some of the content yet.

  2. What a great list of books! Your students definitely have a good taste in literature. I read some of the books mentioned here, and have a few more on my to-be-read list. I do have a question about the following books tho:

    A Child called “It” by David Pelzer

    and

    A Girl named Mister by Nikki Grimes

    What are they about? Gender, biological sex and fluidity or what?

    I’m just interested, so I’d like to know!

    Bye
    SeaofWords

    • A Child Called “It” is a memoir about the abusive childhood of Dave Pelzer. A Girl Named Mister is a novel in verse about a teen Mary Rudine’s struggles with being a “good Christian girl” and boys.

      • That sounds worth reading. To be honest, I wish I had more money to spend on books, because there are so many books worth reading out there. It definitely wanders onto my to-be-read list.

        Be proud of your class, they rock it!

      • It’s so sad that in Austria, reading is not that much fostered. Especially when it comes to older students, which I think is horrible. We have to read a list of books, and talk about it after reading it, for a short time, but not much. (Like an hour, that’s it). I think it’s so sad that reading isn’t a bigger topic, both in German and English lessons. (Reading helps a lot to improve your vocabulary for instance.) And we always read boring books in English or very old ones in German( I did like some of them, but it’s not the same as reading a contemporary book).

        I spend every little cent and Euro I have on books. They are my number one expenses by far.

  3. I just posted my students’ list of books that won their Book Whisperers Awards a few weeks ago – so exciting to see several of my kids’ award-winning titles on this list too! I love seeing which books other students are enjoying so I know what titles to search for over the summer.

  4. Love seeing this list! I’m excited when a required reading text makes it onto the students’ favorite book titles. That often happened with The Golden Goblet, a required text in our 6th grade curriculum. Our after school book club read Crossover, Echo, and Brown Girl Dreaming this year. I just purchased Some Kind of Courage for the fall. The Book Thief is a personal favorite, and I’m adding Orbiting Jupiter to my summer reading list. Your student readers rock!

  5. Pingback: The Importance of Summer Reading by Sarah Krajewkski |

Please write your comment here.

