My Summer Reading Plans

Since yesterday was graduation, I now feel like summer has officially begun. Summer means more time with my two children, fun in the sun, and, of course, LOTS of reading! So, where do I even start? I read 27 books last summer (not counting picture books), so my goal this summer is 30, which are listed below. Some titles I have been anxiously awaiting, some are sequels, some I have read amazing reviews on, and some are simply because I love the author. Do you agree with my list?

Screenshot 2016-06-25 at 9.41.54 PM.png

2016 Summer YA Titles (bold titles I already finished):

1. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (sequel to Red Queen)

2. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (Fangirl companion novel)

3. Stick by Andrew Smith (another Andrew Smith gem)

4. I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (a popular title w/ boys over the past few years)

5. The Last True Love Story by Brendan Kiely (currently reading and LOVING it!)

6.  Boy Nobody (now called I Am the Weapon) by Allen Zadoff (another popular title w/ boys)

7. Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart (excited to read a MG book w/ a transgender character)

8. Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk (have read some AMAZING reviews on this one!)

9. The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner (has been in my to-read pile a while)

10. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses)

11. Reality Boy by A.S. King (because I LOVE books by A.S. King!)

12. When We Collided by Emery Lord (have heard great things about this one)

13. Most Dangerous by Steve Sheinkin (National Book Award finalist and nonfiction)

14. Nine, Ten: A September 11th Story by Nora Raleigh Baskin (a book club title)

15. The Nest by Kenneth Oppel (popular with boys and girls this year)

16. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (sequel to The Wrath and the Dawn)

17. Forge by Laurie Halse Anderson (sequel to Chains, and 3rd of the trilogy comes out soon)

18-20. March: Books 1-3 by John Lewis (popular graphic novels; 3rd one out in August)

21. Textbook Amy Krause Rosenthal by Amy Krause Rosenthal (Love her books!)

22. The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (many amazing reviews on this one!)

23. A Hundred Thousand Worlds by Bob Proehl (writer from my district!)

24. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (haven’t read yet, and NEED to!)

25. Firecracker by David Iserson (popular in my classroom this year)

26. Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan (also popular in my room)

27. Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead (I’ve read wonderful reviews)

28. When by Victoria Laurie (popular with my students this year)

29. Ghost by Jason Reynolds (a favorite author of mine and my students)

30. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (sequel to An Ember in the Ashes)

 

2016 Summer Professional Titles (bold titles I already started):

1. Writing with Mentors by Allison Marchetti and Rebekah O’Dell 

2. Reading Nonfiction by Kylene Beers and Bob Probst

3. The Journey is Everything by Katherine Bomer

What are you hoping to read this summer? Are there any titles I should have on my list? Please feel free to comment and share!

3 thoughts on “My Summer Reading Plans

Please write your comment here.

