The Mural

Eight students. Ten weeks. Over 160 hours. The mural is finally done!

It all started with an idea. A truly wonderful idea! Anyone who knows me will tell you that I am not one to just let an idea go. Favorite/Popular books were chosen, and students began planning and sketching. They spent a lot of their summer in my classroom when they could have been relaxing and hanging out with family and friends. What a group! They definitely surpassed all of my expectations. Not only was I impressed, but the authors of these books were as well! Thanks to a supportive principal and these artistic volunteers, I now have a truly unforgettable mural in my classroom.

Mural2.jpeg

A few more members of the mural team!

IMG_5240

Five of the eight students who worked on the mural.

Now for some close-ups of some of the books:

The authors of the books loved their work too:

 

7 thoughts on “The Mural

  1. I appreciate the effort the artists put into doing the mural because I am an artist as well. I know how laborious, and rewarding when done, painting on walls is. Well done! I love everything that was painted there. 🙂

  2. Some of my students are eager to tackle a similar project. Would it be possible for them to contact your artists via Edmodo or through our professional emails? They’d like to hear more about process and products used.

Please write your comment here.

