We Need Diverse Classroom Libraries

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.27.09 PM.png

Books have taught me so much over the years. I walked through the lives of characters living with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, and others that are struggling with their sexuality. I experienced life confined to a wheelchair, and cried for children who couldn’t escape broken homes. As I continue to reflect on 2016 and make resolutions for 2017, I know I must make room for more diverse books. I will never know what many of my students are going through when they walk through my door. Yes, some may confide in me, but others are too scared to confide in anyone. Where can these children turn to? In my classroom, I give them the opportunity to turn to books. Who knows what they may find in them. A student could turn to page 10 and find another transgender teen just like herself. Another might meet a young boy with bipolar disorder that reminds him a lot of his older brother. Book teach us. Book inspire us. Book can help heal us.

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-5-48-16-pm

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 5.49.30 PM.png

4 thoughts on “We Need Diverse Classroom Libraries

  1. I don’t know whether you’ve heard about None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio, or Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides (you probably heard about this one.)

    You should add them to your diversity shelf:)

    Yours,
    Valerie

Please write your comment here.

