#SOL19 Day 4 – Those Tough Ones

Today was one of those days. You know the type of day I’m talking about. The one where each class is a little louder than the last. The one where even the optimistic students appear frustrated. The one where I have to remind myself to breathe as I rush from table to table.

Why today? Because today we are writing, and writing is hard work. It can be tedious, frustrating, and downright dreadful to some. My students are used to formulas, acronyms, and one answer. They like them, for they make writing easier. They can plug in what they need and submit. Done!

But what about the thinking and learning? The formulas will (most likely) disappear in college, and life doesn’t always have one correct answer.

Yes, today was a tough one. My students were frustrated with my prodding questions when they wanted one answer. They didn’t want to put pencil to paper for more than one minute (instead of their four quickwrite minutes). They certainly didn’t want to revise awkward phrases and add transitions. It’s hard work to become a better writer, and that’s what they were doing. We will pick up our pencils and try again tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 9.30.58 PM

 

4 thoughts on “#SOL19 Day 4 – Those Tough Ones

  1. Ah! Such optimism- I can taste it. The best times/or days are the ones you roll up your sleeves, and you say, “Im going back in!” Like a fighter on the ropes. I really felt that from your day.

  2. There’s days where I love to teach writing. Other days I don’t want to touch it with a ten foot pole. But I know from experience (and I’m sure you do too) that the next day you do writing everyone is ready to try it again.

  3. So many of my students struggle with the idea of writing. Getting them to write for more than a couple of minutes is like pulling teeth. They prefer the short, quick, one-word answer instead of anything with a bit of a bit or more in-depth. We just need to keep pushing and believing that someday there will be a break through

Please write your comment here.