#SOL19 Day 11 – Time to Meditate?

I usually enjoy my mornings. I have a junior homeroom, and the students in there are a lively bunch. They share stories about their weekend, help one another with their homework, and playfully mock each other constantly. Often I’m pulled into one of their hilarious conversations, and I enjoy it. They brighten my morning.

Today was not one of those days. My juniors walked in half asleep, annoyed with one another, and some of them were downright mean. I knew that yesterday was daylight savings, but could it have really affected my students that much? So, I asked a few students what was wrong. Staci* mumbled something about not getting enough sleep. Jacob barely looked up when I said hello, and Tyler didn’t even respond at all.

“What’s going on today?” I asked anyone who would listen. “Did I miss something?”

“No Ms. K,” Bri responded. “No one wants to be here, that’s all.”

Yikes. That response shocked me a bit. But then I took a look around. Frustration, anxiety, and anger were already apparent on many faces. Their looks got me thinking, How can we change the atmosphere in our building? 

That question brought me back to the resent research I’ve been reading. My 9th graders are writing letters to our principal about a change they’d like to see at our school, and I am writing one too. As of today, I now know what my topic is: bring meditation to our school.

The research I’ve found is quite clear. Meditation can help ease the minds of our students. According to one study, “It seemed to increase students’ level of physical, mental and emotional awareness.” Other research proves that, with meditation, students are more focused in the classroom. And there’s more.  Researchers from the Universities of Udine and Rome found that “meditation training improved children’s attention and reduced internalizing problems, such as fearfulness, withdrawal from social groups, anxiety and depression, improving their psychological well-being.” Because of studies like these, many schools are now incorporating meditation. Some are replacing detention with meditation, while others are encouraging all students to participate each morning.

So, through writing with my students, I’ve found a great topic that could honestly improve the atmosphere at my school. I don’t know if meditation is a great fit at my school, but why not try? It can’t hurt to share what I’ve found with those in charge.

Do you know of a school that incorporates meditation? If so, I’d love to hear how it’s going!

*Students’ names were changed to protect their privacy.

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 9.30.58 PM

2 thoughts on “#SOL19 Day 11 – Time to Meditate?

  1. Thanks for this post today, there is growing research showing that meditation could be transformative in schools. One of our elementary schools has Mindful Monday and they share a 2-3 minute mindful activity for all the K-6 kids to try several times a month. Sometimes it is a guided meditation or mindful breathing. We’ve been told children do not need to participate, but that they are invited to. Probably not doing it regularly enough to notice an impact,but if it can give a few kids some coping skills it would be worth it.

  2. Sorry, I can’t help with an example of a school who already utilizes meditation. I am interested to hear if you end up working this in to your school day though. Your students sound like mine today; 8th graders with allll kinds of negative vibes today. Tomorrow is a new day- hoping for positive attitudes and smiles! A girl/teacher can hope! Keep us posted about meditation!

Please write your comment here.