#SOL19 Day 16 – Sarah and How She Got Her Name

Throughout my years as a high school English teacher, there have been certain teaching techniques I’ve used that have raised a few eyebrows. Anything that didn’t appear “rigorous enough” was discouraged, no matter what skills were being taught.

Independent reading didn’t include direct instruction. The kids weren’t doing enough during that time. (Doesn’t reading itself count!?) Never mind the one-on-one conferences that took place, where I was doing short mini-lessons to help students improve their collection of reading strategies.

Book clubs weren’t “rigorous enough” because they weren’t whole-class novels. How could you possibly teach 4-5 books at once?! Never mind that more students were willing to read and analyze these books because they had the freedom to choose a title that interested them.

Using picture books in my classroom were not even close to “rigorous enough.” How could a high school English teacher possibly challenge our students with a picture book? Never mind that writing techniques in picture books are incorporated in YA and adult novels too. Just take a peak inside my classroom and see how:

Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal is one of my current favorites. I’ve used it for quickwrites, as well as imitating style. If you don’t know the book, Alma is a young girl who finds her long name, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela, to be way too long. She tells this to her father, only to learn why she got that name in response.

IMG_2709.JPG

My picture book inspiration.

For a quickwrite, my students shared the history of their name. They described all they knew about it with as much detail as they could. If they didn’t know a lot about their name, they were encouraged to ask that night. The following day, I read them Alma and How She Got Her Name, and then started writing my own draft called Sarah and How She Got Her Name using my name, Sarah Helene. Here is the draft I wrote right in front of my students:

Sarah was my great-grandmother on my mother’s side. In the Jewish religion, names are given based on someone who passed away. Sarah also fit because my mother, an elementary school teacher, had a student named Sarah she adored.  

Helene came from my father’s mother, Helen, who passed away when he was 13. My parents didn’t like the name Helen for me, so they added the “e” to the end.

What followed was a mini-lesson on style. I put the book under the document camera, and student shared what they noticed about the way it was written. An anchor chart was created, and students used it to create their own piece.

Their final drafts were gorgeous. Elements of style–purposeful repetition, dialogue, formatting, and sentence structure–were modeled and learned through this picture book. Just because picture books often have young characters and images doesn’t mean they can’t be models for high schoolers; they are models of great writing for any age.

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 9.30.58 PM

7 thoughts on “#SOL19 Day 16 – Sarah and How She Got Her Name

  1. Good for you for using ALL the rigorous teaching techniques you described. Definitely they ARE rigorous! This example of using picture books is perfect, and you have the results to prove its success. Also, in this SOLC writing challenge, I have learned that the hardest writing is sometimes the shortest. When writing brief pieces, you have to choose the very precise words that carry meaning – and most picture books do just that.

  2. Love this lesson! and I’m stealing for use with my 8th graders next year. You are right on track with lit circles.. I agree that still some parents/educators think whole class novels are more rigorous. In our county it seems that the middle schools have bought in, but the high schools are slow going. They still cling to their whole-class novels. Good for you and keep it up!

  3. Thank you for this slice! Names are so important! I just added the book on my wish list. There just might be a lesson coming for my ELA class later this year.

  4. I think my last comment disappeared? I’ll try again. I wrote about Alma and How She Got Her Name this month, too! I love that picture books can inspire great writing in any grade level. Thank you for sharing your great lesson!

  5. I LOVE that book, too! Keep doing all of the great things you are doing for your high school learners. I wish there were more high school (and middle school) teachers who make time for independent reading, books clubs, and picture books! (P.S. If you’re looking for another great picture book on names, check out Thunder Boy, Jr. by Sherman Alexie and Yuyi Morales.)

Please write your comment here.