#SOL19 Day 17 – Adding a Little Joy

Screenshot 2019-03-17 at 11.36.02 AM.png

from Dictionary.com

This morning, I saw a Facebook post by the fabulous Dr. Mary Howard about joy. It’s something that is so powerful, for often it’s contagious. When I think about joy in my life, images of my children, husband, family members, friends, and teaching come to mind. I know those first real Spring days will bring me joy, as well as just some warm weather. I  was also reminded of a quickwrite I did with my students about one month ago where I asked them to list people, things, and situations that bring them joy and happiness. Their responses shocked me. Many students couldn’t come up with anything, or only had 1-2 items. So, I asked them to share why their lists were so short. Those that were willing to share all mentioned that school was part of the problem.

A Few Ways I Try to Bring Joy Into My Classroom:

  1. Get to know each and every child. I believe that creating a strong relationship with each student is vital to their success in my classroom. Some relationships take quite a bit of time to create, but I don’t give up. I greet them with a smile. During our daily independent reading time, I confer with some of them. Sometimes, those questions I ask bring our conversation back to what’s going on in their day. Students need to know that we care.
  2. Incorporate choice whenever possible. When students have the freedom to read, write, and speak about topics they love, joy is palpable on their faces and in their actions. Choice also assists in building those all-important relationships.
  3. Make the classroom look inviting. I remember what it was like to walk into those classrooms with bare walls. It said a lot about my teacher, and I didn’t want that for my students. Want to change what your classroom looks like? Ask your students! Over the years, my students have given me great suggestions, and have even helped me change the appearance of my classroom.
  4. Shake things up a bit. It’s March, and my students are ready for this Buffalo winter to be over. Once the weather improves, I am going to take them outside to read and write. Next month, we are doing a form of March Madness, but with poetry. When it’s time to read Romeo & Juliet, we will be down on the auditorium stage. Sometimes kids just need the chance to get up and move around.
  5. Take care of ourselves. I’ve learned from past experiences that I cannot forget about self-care. A happy teacher usually creates more happy students. That means I sometimes leave work at school, and make time for something I love at home. I go out with my family. I read. I meditate. I draw with my daughter. We need that ME time.

I know that these modifications may not work with every child, but why not try? I’ve certainly noticed a lot of positive changes in many of my kiddos. How do you add a little joy in your classroom?

Screen Shot 2019-03-01 at 9.30.58 PM

14 thoughts on “#SOL19 Day 17 – Adding a Little Joy

  1. I think this is such an important post and I love your suggestions. From my experience I would also offer one more. We often ask students (people) to reflect BACK on experience and extract joy, they need practice in looking FORWARD for joy in their lives. We can more easily see what we look for. If they know that we will regularly ask them to share some joys they can actively begin noticing and defining simple joys that are often overlooked because we are running on auto pilot or so busy being busy. Your suggestions are great reminders for what we teachers can do. I also want to make sure we offer students skills that help them take some ownership in noticing, creating, and sharing their own joys and not waiting for others to make it happen. Thank you for such a fantastic slice! Joy is something we need a whole lot more of. Even students who suffer from trauma, abuse, neglect, addictions, and difficulty in school need skills to help them recognize and celebrate moments of joy. They are there. We can help but we can’t do it for them.

  2. I love this post and you’ve got me thinking about how I bring joy to my classroom–and wanting to do more. I think it’s so important to help our students find joy too. Curious that they could find so few things to mention–and sad.

  3. You always have the best, most positive, and achievable suggestions to make things more personal and meaningful for students. Thank you! As I’ve mentioned to you before, I think, I have become more transparent with my reading life. I also have an inviting atmosphere physically in my classroom- a large classroom library that lines the entire back wall, students seated in groups, navy blue/blue water color and white color scheme with to me gives it kind of “spa vibes,” etc. I also have weekly and monthly raffles in my class to promote positive behaviors. While my students are in 8th grade, when they get a “raffle ticket” from me, they are SO happy!

      • Of course, steal away! For each class period, I have separate containers. Weekly- pack of gum. Monthly- $5 gift cards to McDonalds or Dunkin.. I teach an ELA block, so I only have 3 classes. Makes it not terribly expensive, thank goodness!

  4. This is an important post. Especially moving into the last week before spring break (for me, anyways). I am now looking forward to adding joy instead of dreading the long week ahead. Thank you for shifting my mindset this morning!

  5. This is a very well-written post with an important message. I truly believe in all five of your ways of bringing joy into the classroom, but my favorite, which I believe is the most important, is incorporating choice into the classroom. In this age with so many wonderful middle grade and young adult books, I attempt to provide reading choices to all of my students. There is no way that I am going to make them passionate readers without letting them choose what they want to read. I can guide them, but they need to have choice. This choice leads to building a relationship with the student as a student AND a reader. It is absolutely important for the students to find “joy” in school and the classroom so that they will want to come back each and every day.:) Thank you very much for sharing!

  6. Well I just love this post- it brought me joy!! I agree with your list as well. Choice is something that brings my little humans much joy, because when you’re 7 you’re basically at the mercy of every adult in your life. They love to pick their seats each day and move around to get comfy spots to read, write, and learn.

  7. This post brought me joy. Just knowing someone took the time to do these things and simply be the person who would dedicate themselves to the idea of joy. It’s so beyond who I am personally but it doesn’t have to be. The posts that make you contemplate stuff like this are the really good ones. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  8. Last week was one of not a whole lot of joy in my building – widespread flu just kicked our collective butt! Your post reminded me to refocus on joy as we walk into a new week with new opportunities to learn, engage, empower, and build relationships with our students! Thank you!!!

Please write your comment here.